LOUISIANA D/L LAWS
Louisiana Revised Statues R.S. 32:408 B.(2)(e) and 405.1
Class E Driver's License
Personal Vehicle Age Requirements: 17 years or above.
Permits the operation of any single motor vehicle under 10,000 pounds gross vehicle weight, any personal use recreational vehicle and farm vehicles controlled and operated by a farmer to transport agricultural products, farm machinery, or farm supplies to and from a farm within 150 air miles of the owner's or operator's farm (not used in operation of a Common or Contract Carrier, and not used to transport passengers or property for hire) or any other vehicle which is not used in the transportation of hazardous materials which is required to be placarded. No first-time application for a Louisiana Class E license shall be received from any person seventeen (17) years of age or older unless there is also submitted with the application written evidence of the successful completion by the applicant of a full thirty-eight (38) hour driver's education course or of an approved six (6) hour pre-licensing training course which was approved by the Louisiana Department of Public Safety and Corrections. New applicants transferring in with an out-of-state, foreign, or military license are exempt from this requirement. In addition, this requirement shall not apply to those seventeen (17) years of age if they do not live within twenty-five (25) miles of a location which provides such course.
Class E Learner's License for those 17 years of age and above.
Any applicant seventeen (17) years of age or above who is applying for a learner's license will be required to provide proof that he/she has completed a full thirty-eight (38) hour driver's education course or a six (6) hour pre-licensing course. Once this proof is furnished and provided all other general requirements are met including successfully passing the vision and written examinations, the learner's license may be issued. This license authorizes the holder to drive while accompanied by a licensed driver. The learner's restriction cannot be removed for at least thirty (30) days from the date the learner's license was issued except if an applicant provides proof that the applicant has completed an approved thirty-eight (38) hour driver education course. Upon providing this proof, the restriction may be removed immediately upon the applicant successfully passing the on-the-road driving examination. The letters LP will be superimposed on the face of this license.Note: The above classes do not include the operation of motorcycles and motor scooters except as an endorsement to the basic license.(See special note below for information on Class E learner's licenses and intermediate licenses for those under 17 years of age.) SPECIAL NOTE: According to Act 725 of the 1997 Regular Session (R.S. 32:405.1), effective January 1, 1998, the age requirement for a Class E license has been raised to seventeen (17) years of age. The age requirement for a Class D license remains at seventeen (17). By way of this act, a graduated licensing system for those under seventeen (17) years of age was created. The following is an explanation of that system.
Class E Learners Permit
Age Requirements: 15 and 16 years of age.
Effective January 1, 1998, a minor fifteen (15) or sixteen (16) years of age may only be issued a Class E Learner's License/Permit. This license will enable the minor to drive while being accompanied by a licensed parent, guardian. or a licensed adult at least age twenty-one or older **OR a licensed sibling at least age eighteen or older. This license must be maintained for a minimum of one hundred and eighty (180) days, but in no event may it be upgraded to a higher class license prior to the minor reaching sixteen (16) years of age. The letters LP will be superimposed on the face of this learner's license. The following qualifications must be met in order to obtain the learner's license:
1. Must complete an approved driver education course approved by the Department of Education or the Department of Public Safety and Corrections consistingof a minimum of thirty (30) hours classroom training and eight (8) hours of on-the-road training.
2. Must pass a written and vision examination at the Office of Motor Vehicles.
Note: Upon successful completion of the written and skills test or completion of the Harley Davidson Rider's Edge(sm) New Rider Course (approved by the Department of Education. Course locations are in Shreveport and Baton Rouge.) or the Motorcycle Safety Awareness and Operators Training Program. A motorcycle endorsement may be placed on a Class E learner's permit; however, the person will be restricted to operating within a distance of three miles from the applicant's residence unless a parent, tutor, or other person having custody is temporarily staying or residing at another location where in the applicant would be restricted to operating within three miles of that location.
Class E Intermediate LicenseAge Requirement: 16 years of age.After completing the learners license/permit stage, upon reaching at least sixteen (16) years of age, and upon successfully passing the on-the-road driving test, the minor may be issued a Class E Intermediate License. This license must be maintained for a minimum of one (1) year from the date of issuance or until the driver has reached the age of seventeen (17) This license allows the minor to drive alone or with other passengers in the vehicle, but restricts him from driving between the hours of 11:00 p.m. to 5:00 a.m unless he is accompanied by a licensed parent, guardian, adult at least twenty-one or older. After the one year period or once the driver reaches age seventeen (17), the minor may qualify for a permanent Class E license.Note: A custodial parent's signature will always be required at any time a license is upgraded to a higher class. ** In the case where joint custody has been awarded, only the domiciliary parent may sign. Exceptions to this rule are those minors who are married or have been emancipated.
**EXCEPTION TO Graduated Licensing Program:
Any applicant at least sixteen (16) years of age, but less than seventeen (17) years of age, moving to Louisiana from another state shall be eligible for the issuance of a Class E intermediate driver's license provided such applicant meets all other requirements for licensure in Louisiana if proof of issuance of a driver's license or learner's license for a minimum of ninety days from the state of previous residence is provided. The proof of driver's education will not be required as this applicant will not be considered a first time applicant.